Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Proboat Prop problem

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    2

    Default Proboat Prop problem

    Hello all this is my first post and I have a question about props for my Proboat Veles. The manual states that the box stock prop is recommended for up too 4s and if using 6s constantly to use factory replacement part # PRB282027 which is a misprint it's actually #PBR282028. So my question is has anyone run into the problem of the hub on the replacement being too short too allow tightening down of the prop...? I attached pictures of Box stock and Factory replacement.

    Thanks in advance. Ken

    IMG_20190421_084407681.jpgIMG_20190421_084435013.jpg

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    AZ
    Posts
    7,664

    Default

    Welcome aboard. I don’t have a Veles but this condition is not uncommon. You need a soacer between the prop and the nut. You can make one from a piece of brass tubing, or by some here:

    https://www.offshoreelectrics.com/proddetail.php?prod=ose-83280


    .
    ERROR 403 - This is not the page you are looking for


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Thanks, I was thinking about machining a spacer but wasn't sure if it would have any ill affect on the prop shaft or the strut bushing. I will just order a couple from here.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    FR
    Posts
    1,863

    Default

    Did you try a spring ?

    LoL

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    2,591

    Default

    we used to use fuel tubing in the old days

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    OH
    Posts
    1,433

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dasboata View Post
    we used to use fuel tubing in the old days
    And still do.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    2,591

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by photohoward1 View Post
    And still do.
    right on !!!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    ON
    Posts
    122

    Default

    Is it not possible to just loosen the drive dog and move it further back?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    FR
    Posts
    1,863

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Capt'n Crash View Post
    Is it not possible to just loosen the drive dog and move it further back?
    You can' t move the DD each time you change the propeller. The lenght of the flexshaft is not adjustable

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    ON
    Posts
    122

    Default

    If that's the case then I would email Proboat customer service and see if they have a better solution to the problem.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    ON
    Posts
    2,303

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Kenny Joz View Post
    Hello all this is my first post and I have a question about props for my Proboat Veles. The manual states that the box stock prop is recommended for up too 4s and if using 6s constantly to use factory replacement part # PRB282027 which is a misprint it's actually #PBR282028. So my question is has anyone run into the problem of the hub on the replacement being too short too allow tightening down of the prop...? I attached pictures of Box stock and Factory replacement.

    Thanks in advance. Ken

    IMG_20190421_084407681.jpgIMG_20190421_084435013.jpg
    The prop in the second picture has got a shorter hub then the prop in the first picture.
    Those two props are not the same length.

    Larry
    Past NAMBA- P Mono -1 Mile Race Record holder
    Past NAMBA- P Sport -1 Mile Race Record holder
    Bump & Grind Racing Props -We Like Em Smooth & Wet

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •