Thread: 2 blade prop question.

Default 2 blade prop question.

Thinking about putting a two bladed prop on my boat and was just curious if i will lose top speed and what is a good choice for the supervee.

2 great choices are the Octura x642 or the Prather P220
    Z
    KBB34" Mono - Fast
    ToySport Triton- Not as fast

or a x640, jumps right out of the hole with the 2 blades no cavitation

Thanks. Im pretty new to the balancing thing so i'm probably going to get someone at my LHS to do it. Do you like the two blade better than three?

yes

If you choose the Octura props get them detongued as well.

Cool thanks for all the advice.

If I want to get a carbon prop what is a good choice?

CF45 with the stock motor works really well.

Yeah I think I'm going to get one to see how it goes. I finally have a little money in the bank to upgrade and the first things are prop cooling system and hardware. I've heard from my lhs that they make a rudder with two inlets for the water pickup. He said to go that way because he thinks if I hook a water pickup to the trim plates it would cause drag. But I've seen a lot of other people doing it. Also I would like to get a octura x642 but want it sharpend and balanced but offshore says they are out of stock. Is that right?

You don't need a new rudder the stock one flows fine. An OSE cooling jacket would be a big plus if you want to buy something. Also adjustable trim tabs from OSE are very nice. Sharpened and balanced props are expensive. Start with a CF45 and go from there.

Cool. I've also. Have heard of guys using a cf 48.

You can try a CF48 but watch the temps. I found that for my boat the best combo of run time and speed and cool temps was with the CF45. A Grim 42x55 is a good choice also but there you go again with the balancing. Right now I use a UL-1 motor and a 42x55 prop and it works just great.