Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Upgrading to 5S, need some help.

Default Upgrading to 5S, need some help.

Hello, im thinking about upgrading my stock BJ to 5S, an need some help.
    I'm thinking about ordering a Rhino 2S 3700Mah 25C and a Rhino 3S 3700Mah 25C.

- Since i'm new to the FE hobby i need some help, is there anything more i need?

- Since the Low Voltage cutoff on the standard ESC is setup to 4S this wont help me. How do normaly do the driving with 5S on a BJ safe without damaging the lipos? Wil this help me or is it no need for it?

- Also hear something about a BEC, is this something i need to buy or??

Thnx guys, your help so far have been great.

Id recommend running either an external BEC or a receiver pack, you can get a BEC here on OSE

http://www.offshoreelectrics.com/pro...cas-castle-bec

At the moment it is out of stock.

To use the external BEC you MUST cut the red wire from you speed control that connects to the receiver. You can install the BEC by soldering the wires from the BEC to the red and black wires coming from you speed control. Then all you do is plug you External BEC into the reciever and you good to go. You do not have to actually CUT the wire you can simply slip it out of the servo plug and put heat shrink over it, which will allow you to go back to using the stock setup easier. Just wanted to make that clear before you go hacking at the ESC

You can avoid all the soldering(which isnt really much) and run a receiver pack by again CUTTING the RED WIRE coming from you ESC to your receiver and getting something like this

http://www.offshoreelectrics.com/pro...p?prod=dh-3170

or, an option that may be more practical and save money in the long run

http://www.offshoreelectrics.com/pro...p?prod=dh-3170

Side note, I have not personally run 5s on the stock speed control but i have heard of people doing it, i would recommend definitely running some type of BEC or receiver pack though.

Hope i helped

--Chris