Thread: # turns on a brushed motor

Default # turns on a brushed motor

would it be a safe assumption that the lower number of turns on a brushed motor equates to higher RPM but less torque and higher turns, more torque, less RPM? I'm thinking that boats need something between 15 and 25 turns, depending on their size. A light 32" possibly a 20 for a 550 can? Am I anywhere near close on these assumptions? I think I have a # of turn issue as I'm using a motor from an RC car that was gear driven, maybe 2:1, but in my boat, I'm running it direct. It goes at a fast walk. If I could get it to go the same speed as the car did, I would be happy. This is my first build and it turned out rather disappointing.

Hello and welcome. A 550 motor on a 32' hull is too small. You would be better off with a brushless motor like a feigao XL or a Neu. Of course you will need an ESC to go with them. Something around 150 amps should be fine.
    Government Moto:
    "Why fix it? Blame someone else for breaking it."

The boat is a newquida (NQD) from ebay and was junk from the get go. I gutted it and used the motor, combo esc/receiver and servor from a car. I used a bj26 outdrive, stuffing tube, flex shaft and prop shaft. I'm up to a hundred bucks and a lot of time on something that may not be savable. I can see another 50 bucks on a 700 brushed if it will work but to go to the complete brushless setup would be a gamble. I really like the hull though.

OH, by the way, it's the yellow one in my avatar

A 700 with a larger prop might get you some pretty decent speeds. Go for it.
    Government Moto:

what about the number of turns? this hull is light as it is paper thin plastic but I reinforced the rear 30% with wood as I figured it would ride there

any explanation on the number of turns of a brushed motor would be appreciated, thank you

Quote Originally Posted by bwells View Post
    any explanation on the number of turns of a brushed motor would be appreciated, thank you