Thread: Running 2 11300MAH 3s LiPo batteries in a stock Traxxas Spartan, Bad Idea?

Default Running 2 11300MAH 3s LiPo batteries in a stock Traxxas Spartan, Bad Idea?

So I am new to R/C and shortly after purchasing my Spartan I wanted a 2nd set of batteries so i could swap them out while the other set is charging. I bought the boat and 2 7600MAH SMC 3s LiPo's and was very happy with the performance and run time. I went to the same hobby shop and they were out of the 7600 so I bought 2 11300 thinking it wouldn't make a difference. I didn't do any prior research and the guy at the shop basically told me it would just give me more run time. I only had a chance to run it one time last year on the 11300 and I was very pleased with the stability and handling with the added weight but I think it overheated and went into thermal shutdown. After it cooled down I ran it with the 7600 which was fine until it went airborne and flipped and submerged the ECS for about 45 minutes until i could retrieve it. And I believe the ECS is done (box wasn't sealed with silicone where the wires enter the box) I haven't tested it since then to see if it's functional because i don't want to charge up the batteries and not use them if the ECS is fried. But Anyway my main question is whether or not it's safe to run the 11300MAH once I get the ECS issue figured out?