Thread: 1/8 scale unlimited hydro FE Help

Default 1/8 scale unlimited hydro FE Help

Hey Guys,
    I'm in need of some help. I'm not new to RC boats but I'm new to FE. I'm picking up a Phil Thomas 1/8 scale Winston Eagle fiberglass hull, 44" in length. This is a play boat only, not a race boat. I am looking for some help figuring out what motor, ESC and prop choices I should look at. I'm looking to run in the upper 50's to mid 60's for speed. I would like to minimize the blow-overs with this boat. If anyone has some recommendations for what I should run with 8s or 12s that would be great. Any help is greatly appreciated! Thank you in advance. I really appreciate this forum and all the people who have helped me!

I would look to both organizations rule set just for guidance. Not because you want to race it because the rules were based on homework of those in those organizations.

The NAMBA rules include up to 8s and have a motor size limitation for the motor and a Kv limit. However, that size limitation eliminated some great motors that were less pricey. Like 1/2 the price. The rule set works but those that wrote it didn't do all the homework in at least that regard. Oh, there is also a diameter limitation on the prop.

IMPBA has a new trial set......I think it's trial......that also includes a motor dimension limitation but goes up to 10s. Their limit included the less expensive motor option.....cuz they did do their homework.

The plan for my Velasko is the NAMBA rule set. In so doing I end up legal for IMPBA.

8s is easiest to acquire parts for. The Castle XLX2 will run on 8s and is tough as nails. Plus I can series 4s packs to run it. If you have many boats, 4s is a staple. 10s is easier on equipment as the amp draw can be lower but more farting around with cell strategy and more esc needed. Ugh. Zero deal if you have large boats already. I don't do those much anymore.