Thread: Battery storage help

Default Battery storage help

Hey need a little help please. I am new to RC Boats and Lipo batteries. I am running 2 Smart 5000mah 100C 3S batteries. I only get to run boat about every 2 weeks. My question is after I run the boat what do I need to do with the batteries to keep them good. I have a battery charger that can charge them to storage mode. Is that it or what's best to do. Thank you for the response.

Yes...after running your boat (or any RC), it's best to charge/discharge the packs to "storage" level. Do this with ALL packs...those you used, as well as any you might have charged but didn't use. Most chargers have a pre-set "storage" (usually between 3.75 & 3.85 volts/cell), while other charges allow the user to program what voltage "storage" should be at. If you can set yours, you probably find most people recommending setting it for 3.8V/cell. My iCharger Duo 406 allows me to set my chosen level (I have mine set to 3.79V/cell)...but, I also have/use two dischargers that are factory set to 3.83V/cell.

On a related note...and, I know you didn't ask, but this is useful/helpful info...in regards to physically storing LiPo packs, as you start to accumulate more (which everyone does), you'll want something 'safe' to store them in. There are a few companies manufacturing "LiPo storage cases", and charging obscene amounts of money for them...typically over $50 each, with most being at least $60...but, there are much cheaper solutions. You can save yourself a huge amount of money by getting large .50 cal ammunition cases, and removing the rubber seal gasket in the lid. The end result of this is exactly the same as those lipo-safe cases...but, netting you 4x the number of cases for the same price. I get mine at Harbor Freight Tools (it's the ONLY thing I buy at that place, as most of what they carry is complete garbage) for $15 each.

~ More peace, love, laughter, & kindness would make the world a MUCH better place