Thread: Straight Turn Fin

Default Straight Turn Fin

Does anyone know where I can find a straight turn fin for a P Ltd Sport hydro or 1/10th scale hydro, or is that a DIY thing? I see them for sale for larger boats, but I'm only finding hooked fins for LSH. Thanks!

Why would you need a straight fin for LSH? I haven't used a straight fin on a sport.......ever now that I think about it.

For my scales where a straight fin is required I just bought a piece of stainless and cut what I wanted out of it. We have also made them out of cheap dollar store spatula. Cut the shape, sharpen, drill some holes.
    Noisy person

Thanks for the input TS. I don't know that I need one, but I'm a newbie and I've been told hooked fins can be tricky. Any advice on placement/setup would be appreciated!

Hooked fins once set up right perform well on a LSH. Setting the fin to start as neutral as the hook/ curve part of the fin is level/ parallel to the bottom of the boat. A straight fin can be used as well but you would need to angle the fin inboard 12-15 degrees to start with. As placement, mounting and so for will depend on the hull, turning direction and type of fin you plane to use.

Thanks Ryan. I have the fin that ML Boatworks recommends for my hull, which is the Mojo Sport 20. It has a curved hook rather than angled, so I'm not sure I could get the hook parallel to the bottom of the boat. To this point, my plan has been to mount it so the vertical portion of the fin is perpendicular to the bottom of the hull and in line with the outside edge of the sponson ride surface. Is that a reasonable starting point? Thanks again.

sounds about right. good place to start and see what gives. There are other tweaks for the fin, but you must find them after you get a good, solid feel for the stock one you have.

Thanks Paul, that sounds like good advice.