Thread: motor cuts out during wot

Default motor cuts out during wot

but once i release the throttle and pull again it starts back up again. Could be the ESC or the motor overloading or ??? this is on Impulse 32. Spektrum 160 ESC, stock motor 3682 2000kv, 2 x3s Smart batteries and the prop is Dasboata 1516 and the Octura 440 , happens on both props. Boat consistent at 54 mph.

Use a program card and disable LVC on the ESC, that is, assuming that can be done on that model. I have no personal experience with it.

If something was overloading, you'd have excess heat and would know about it when you check temps. Cutout like that after brief runs is usually a LVC circuit that's too sensitive, or sub-par batteries that have too much voltage sage under load.
    Vac-U-Tug Jr (13mph)

what size wiring? too small of wiring and connectors can cause excess voltage drop kicking in the low voltage cutoff like fweasel explained. do you have a temp gun? is anything hot?

2 x3s Smart batteries

What make,"C" rating, and mAmp ratting?

Larry
    Past NAMBA- P Mono -1 Mile Race Record holder
    Past NAMBA- P Sport -1 Mile Race Record holder
    Bump & Grind Racing Props -We Like Em Smooth & Wet

3s x2 series , Smart 100c ,5000 mah 11.2 v . wire is 10awg and 6mm connectors, using electrical dielectric grease on them, i use it on all the electric connections no matter what they are on. so is not that. the hottest temp was on the front of the motor at 132 degrees. prop on this run was Octura 440.

Voltage drop under load, try a smaller prop, lower KV, lower voltage, or better cells.

edit, I thought i had posted this before the above info came out, but it was still sitting in the typing box: