Thread: New guy

Default New guy

New guy here, I've been lurking around on the forum here a while. I've been into RC cars for years, particularly on road speedrun cars but I'm new to boats. I just picked up a Proboat Ul-19 and Blackjack 42, and ran them for the first time on Sunday. I had a great time, both boats ran perfectly with no issues as I had done all my prerun maintenance and checks like greasing shafts and checking screws. The UL-19 did get a bit hot when I ran it on 6s after only a couple minutes but it was a pretty quick and did 61mph on 6s completely stock. The Blackjack 42 on 8s did 58mph, but looked like it was running very low in the front, even at full throttle it wouldn't blow over so I maybe had the strut adjusted a little too low, Ill raise it a tiny bit and see if I gain some speed. These speeds are fun but ultimately I want to go faster.. For the past couple of years I have been building and running RC speedrun cars, I have 6 cars that have been over 130mph and 2 that have been over 150mph, a few pics of some of my speedrun cars and the boats are below. I love the idea of making anything RC faster and will enjoy this journey into RC boats!
    Attached Images Attached Images

Welcome to the club. Those are some badass looking cars. If I had somewhere to run them, I would probably branch out to something like that too.

The stock prop on the UL19 is more of a 4S prop and will definitely run hot on 6S, so be careful. The manual suggests propping down for 6S.
    Vac-U-Tug Jr (13mph)

Nice car's ! I got a Limitless and haven't broke 100 yet but did do a back flip at 75 and landed back on all wheels and kept going. Also have a Kraton EXB, lots of fun and dogs Love to chase it.

You can get hooked on boats too, I have a 30 year old Lap Cat that's electric, 36" Miss Geico and Vector SR80 Pro. With high winds here in West Texas the boats have a mind of their own lol.

Quote Originally Posted by Racingjake View Post