Thread: ESC throttle limit prior to LVC

jdmeyer1@gmail.com Guest

Default ESC throttle limit prior to LVC

I'm pretty new to boats and I remember a few years ago while running a couple with a friend that when the voltage reached a specified (unknown to me) voltage, it would cut throttle to 50% so you could return to shore before LVC hit and it wouldn't run anymore. I checked a few marine ESC's and I don't see anything listed in features that says they offer this feature, whatever it might be called. Can anyone point me in the right direction with what ESC's offer this or set me straight on this? haha

I currently have a couple vintage boats and a newer fiberglass catamaran and would love to toss some proper electronics in them and start enjoying this part of RC. Here's what I have and what I'd like to do to them. While I don't expect this post to bring in those could provide guidance to the builds as this is the ESC specific forum, I figured I'd toss this in here in case any of this helps with the information that you might provide.

Kyosho Viper:
    -Condition: Received without box or any electronics except for the motor. The internal electronics box and all accessories were included though. Someone added fiberglass to the transom and hull and added a newer rudder and manual trim tabs.
    -Build intentions: Maintain a close to period correct (based on when the RC boat was built) performance. Brushed, but with modern electronics and features. I will likely design and 3D print a battery tray and use this for balancing the boat. 2S Lipo only.

Kyosho WaveMaster:
    -Condition: OEM electronics, including the Dolphin 2 outboard. One sponson has a tip missing.