Thread: Questions for a 1st P Class build

Default Questions for a 1st P Class build

Having got hooked by my first FE (a Sonicwake 36 V2 from OSE) I am thinking about building "my own" boat. I am focusing on either the OSE M34 Raider or the Seaducer SD34 hull. I'm totally new to FE boats, have some questions, and hope someone will respond.
    1 - Is a fiberglass M34 less prone to damage in a crash than carbon fiber?
    2 - I've read about people who add extra CF to the bottom of their CF hulls - is that necessary?
    3 - What kv should the Leopard motor be in an M34?
    4 - I cannot find any documentation with installation details, dimensions, and hardware lists for setting up either hull - is such documentation available? (EDIT: just found setup info on SD site - dah!)

Just a note: I normally build scale boats and found OSE when I began to get curious about FE. I have to say OSE is superb. Steve has been very patient with questions. When you make a purchase, he ships almost immediately!!
    Last edited by Timothy L; 06-13-2022 at 09:51 AM. Reason: New info

For hardware I would ask OSE for recommendations. The KV of the motor will depend on the type of voltage batteries you plan on running and what speed/runtimes you are looking for. For instance if you want to run 6s you would probably want a motor in the 1500kv range. If you want longer run times you would run 2 packs in parallel which would keep voltage the same but double capacity. Running in series would double voltage but keep same capacity of each battery. Lowering kv would also increase run times but lower speed and vice versa. Wanna keep you voltage times kv around 25-35000 rpm.

1. Typically, the CF Raider is less prone to damage. In fact, I took a hit from one last week during a race. Put a hole in my boat and almost no damage to the CF Raider.