Thread: sonic wake motor upgrade

Default sonic wake motor upgrade

Hi Guys, I am new to boating, and am upgrading my sonic wake and would like to know what would be the best setup/upgrade using a Leopard with a matching prop that would be best for a 60+ run. I am going to be installing a ZTW Seal 200a esc, dual rudder pickups from boat biz. I am also running 2, 11.1v 5000mah 100c,3s lipos. I heard the Leopard 4074/1650 was good also in 1800K. Any ideas or help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

go for a TP3650 or 4050 the 4050 has more torque but heavy ,the 3650 is for this hull super, for these motors you have to upgrade the flex shaft (OSE)

after some research the TP4050 1950kv is all what you want

Hi Koen,
    Thank you for the reply. Judging from what you picked, there would be modifications to the motor mount I assume as the stock dynamite measures 36mmx74mm, or possible a larger tray? Also you indicated a new flex shaft.. Any idea what size on OSE i would be looking for? One last thing, what would be a good prop to match with this motor and the electrics ill use?
    Thanks again

Quote Originally Posted by Mustang2711 View Post
    Also you indicated a new flex shaft.. Any idea what size on OSE i would be looking for?
    OSE has an 'upgrade' flex cable (with drivedog & bullet nut already installed) available. It contains thicker individual strands...plus, is is 5mm longer then the stock value, to provide better "grip" in the coupler.

https://www.offshoreelectrics.com/pr...HD-SonicWake36

~ More peace, love, and kindness would make the world a much better place

Hi Panther,