Thread: Flex shaft issues..impulse 32

Default Flex shaft issues..impulse 32

I recently bought a new proboat impulse 32, I am having issues with breaking flex shafts. I ran approximately 17 battery packs with the stock shaft before it snapped mostly run at 75% throttle and I'm running 2x 3s battery packs. It is breaking where the flex shaft meets the solid shaft. I replaced the stock shaft and it snapped in the same spot immediately upon taking the boat out. I replaced it again and managed to run 2 packs and it started to break in the same area. I am just getting into the hobby of rc boats, have owned planes and drones so this is all kinda of new to me. I do grease after each run as well with marine grease. Can anyone give me any suggestions as I am tired of losing props and shafts, starting to get discouraged. 😒

I've had mine for while now and never had any issues. I admit that I don't dog it out, just smooth accelerations to top end runs. The flex shaft is pretty beefy so I'm a little surprised that it's breaking the way your describing. Did you ever balance the props? Any weird vibrations when you throttle the boat up out of the water?

Are you leaving a gap between drive dog and strut? The flex shaft shrinks when throttle is applied..if you don't have a gap it can break. Leave a gap the width of the flex shaft

Good point. I stick the Flex shaft all the way in and then back it out a millimeter or two. Nothing precise, just enough to allow the shaft to shorten up.

Quote Originally Posted by alvinm View Post
    Good point. I stick the Flex shaft all the way in and then back it out a millimeter or two. Nothing precise, just enough to allow the shaft to shorten up.