Thread: Need guidance / help - What hull and setup for my kids

Default Need guidance / help - What hull and setup for my kids

Hi Boat wizards,

I acquired 12 boat hulls from an estate sale for a stupid low price. I am looking for advice on which hull to use and electronics recommendations. I am a total newb to boats, but have experience in RC cars. Lots of reading and I feel like I am close to kicking off a project for my kids.

The hulls obtained from the estate sale range from 2x 55" off shore mono's, to 1x 44" hydroplane, 2x 37" catamaran/tunnel hull, 2x 37" mono hulls, 1x 31" mono hull, and a few others that were smaller and easier to ship that I have already sold off. All were setup for Gas/Nitro and have most of the rigging installed. I may have to convert some from 1/4" drive down to 3/16 to get the ideal prop on there for the lower speeds I want. (the big boats have 60+mm props on them)

We would be running on a lake in the north Texas area (Lake Lavon for any locals). This area gets wind nearly every day and we can expect some waves/chop on most days. This leads me to think of larger boats? (Is that a solid line of thinking?)

I would like to run on 4s and was eye balling the SeaKing 180a due to the known reliability of HobbyWing ESCs from the RC car side of the hobby.
    I am looking for 30-40 mph speeds and wondering if a leopard 4082 or 4092 motor could handle running these large boats on 4s at those speeds? (guessed I would go for a 1700kv but open to recommendations)

Which hull would you recommend for my 5 and 9 year old to operate (has the most forgiving nature for bad driving)

*As a side note if anyone is in the Dallas/Ft. Worth area is interested I only want to keep 1 boat and sell the rest. (prices would be 1/3 of normal retail)

Thanks in advance for your input/recommendations!!!

-Liberty
    Last edited by LibertyMKiii; 06-23-2021 at 04:37 PM.

Pictures help.

Quote Originally Posted by 1coopgt View Post
    Pictures help.