Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: CFK Special Edition Micro Offshore Catamaran

First...I'm still fairly a newb, so don't take what I'm saying (in the next paragraph) as "written in ink". Although I might be further along in my 'learning', I AM still learning.

I recently (ok, several months ago) purchased the H&M Drifter Micro hull...although my plan is to build it into a micro twin, thus I want/need the rudder centered. As for the offset rudder, you have to remember/realize that micro classes are strong in Europe, and said vessels are competing on oval courses, just as the larger FEs are. As such, the offset rudder would make right turns just as easily as the larger FEs. If you want yours to be race-capable, and will only be running a single motor, it's probably best to stick with an offset rudder. However, if you just want to build yours for "pleasure" (ie. you'll be making left turns as frequently as right turns), then a centered rudder (as shown in the photos) would probably be a smart idea. As a twin (as I'm building), then the centered rudder (at least to me) is the only "way to go".

As a "bonus", if you do end up ordering the Drifter Micro hull, understand that the manual it comes with will be in German. It provides instruction on building a single, as well as twin, including all parts needed (based, obviously, on parts obtainable through H&M). I mention this because I do happen to have the manual in English. I spent a few weeks translating the original German manual into English, for which I emailed a PDF to H&M. I did this so that they could, if they wanted, include a printed English version with orders being shipped to English speaking countries and/or upload it to their website for people to download. I do not know if they have done either (only because I haven't actually checked). If you do order the Drifter Micro, and would like a PDF of my English conversion, feel free to PM me.