Thread: Maine Downeast Lobster Boat

Default Maine Downeast Lobster Boat

I'm a newbie at building rc, just finished my first fiberglass boat and need help choosing a propeller. Dimensions are: 48" LOA, Beam 17", Draft 4" (in stern) weight 25 lbs. Powered with a Leopard 5698 - 910 Kv 2Y motor 56mm x 50mm, ZTW Seal 200 amp ESC, (2) 4S 5000 70c batteries. Will run them in parallel at first, may hook them in series if all goes well. The shaft is 1/4 inch and it can swing a 3.25 inch propeller. Needs a full submergible propeller. I will take all the advice I can get, Thanks, Johnboat 3.jpgboat 3.jpgboat 2.jpgboat 2.jpg

I can't help you with the prop unfortunately, but anted to say that's a beautiful first build you've got there.
    Vac-U-Tug Jr (13mph)

Thank you, I've got a lot of research and hours in it, but it's been fun! Can't wait for sea trials when things thaw out here in Maine.

You will not want to run it 8s. On 4s you have just under 13,500 rpm. That is a lot for a submerged prop of such size. With a 1/4" shaft you are in the bigger sizes. I would suggest something with low pitch as possible and two blades. Of course it does depend on your expected speed and runtime goals.
    NZMPBA 2013, 2016 Open Electric Champion. NZMPBA 2016 P Offshore Champion.
    2016 SUHA Q Sport Hydro Hi Points Champion.
    BOPMPBC Open Mono, Open Electric Champion.

Thanks for your input. I was hoping to get 20 - 30 mph out of her but it will depend on how stable the Hull is at those speeds. Run time in the 30 minute frame would be fine. I could always use a step down tail shaft. Right now it had a prop used with 26cc gas motor, 2.6mm dia 1.7 pitch, I have no idea what that will do.

Awesome to see another Mainer here on the forum, I?m right outside of Bangor and more into the speed boats, I can?t help with your prop size but I?m always looking for other RC boaters to run with. Maybe after all this ice melts we could get some runs in. Good luck with the prop choice.