Thread: New Flowmaster Twin 920 offshore cat

Default New Flowmaster Twin 920 offshore cat

Hi all, (posted this on another forum but didn't get any hits so hope here may be a bit better for this subject)

I'm completely new to the boating world and to learn the hobby i recently found a Flowmaster twin offshore cat...

From reading online reviews this model seemed to have pretty good reviews and most comments i saw was that it was actually pretty decent for its price point (although these were all from some years ago)... This model seemed to have been out of production for some time but it looks like there was production runs with different spec as most online websites say it comes with 60A ESCs whereas mine is fitted with 2x 80A Skywalker ESC to the same 2860 3300 KV motors...

I wanted to ask regarding upgrading this boat in a few stages (so i can decide to what level it makes sense to spend money on a china boat like this). I'd like to use the same hardware and running gear and not change everything (perhaps can update the flex shafts if it's recommended provided they're drop-in replacements). Please give input and any tips on the following staged upgrade options I'm considering:

1) props upgrade only
    - the stock plastic props are notorious for breaking. Assuming i were to keep the stock motors and ESCs (80A 2860 3300KV) what would be the best prop options for max speed (any idea on what sort of speeds could i expect)?

*ideally any product suggestions i can buy from OSE would be great to support the forum if anyone knows particular suggestions for parts (i'm thinking props, flexshafts, couplers from OSE would be good if anyone has tips from here (or happy to look elsewhere if not available here).

2) ESC + props upgrade
    - if i wanted to upgrade the ESCs to something like a 120AMP, what would be the best motor (budget-friendly options as i don't want to sink loads into this boat)?