Thread: CRC 50" mono hull

Default CRC 50" mono hull

I've been playing with FE boats for about two years now. I have the skill to make catamarans go fast (100+). It took a lot of testing and reading all your posts. Now I built a 50"mono hull (CRC 50") that I have no experience with. I have a single TP 5670 850Kv, 400A Flier esc, speedmaster hardware, running either 10 or 12S. I have tried many props on the boat and have gotten somewhere between 60 and 68mph. Tried running the stinger in almost all positions. The props that seem to work the best are 457, 460, and 462 (de-tongued, etc.). I thought that you could easily get 70 out of the boat without to much trouble. What kind of speeds can I expect? This is a fun boat that I do some racing against my friends. It handles awesome. We are all NAMBA members.
    Thanks for your replies. Eddie
    Attached Images Attached Images

No suggestions or help? Normally there is tons of advice.

Quote Originally Posted by EddieM41 View Post
    No suggestions or help? Normally there is tons of advice.
    For a 50" mono I'd say that's 68 is plenty fast, I use gas size props on my 48 Slayer with a lehner 650 kv and a mgm 40063 10s

Thanks for your reply!

The 5670 is a bit small for a 50” mono wanting to go 70+. Look at TP 5690 or Lehner 3080. Still though, 60-68 with your current setup is really good!

Thanks for the suggestion. Not to be a smart a$$, but the biggest 56mm TP motor is 5680. I'll try that or the Lehner(expensive).

Cool

There is something not right with his setup, on 10S and the x462 he ?should? be in the high-60s/low-70s. Impossible to guess from 1000s of miles away with no useful pics, but possibilities include:

- poor trim, running too wet...stinger height may be off, CG too far forward, etc.
    - binding driveline - what are the logged volts, amps and rpm for the 68 mph run?
    - packs have seen better days
    - ESC timing or transmitter endpoint settings not optimum
    - prop too small for the boat