Thread: Best P Limited Motor

Default Best P Limited Motor

Hi guys, newbie here. So glad to have found this forum.

So far I have completed one season racing P Limited Cat down in Florida. I have a ProMarine MTR, set up the way it arrived. Other than having the prop balanced and polished,and adding an additional cooling line, I've made no other changes. I raced with some success, but I've noticed that several of my competitors had more straightaway speed. Being new to the group, I was hesitant to ask the guys I was competing against which motor/prop combination they were running. I know the motor limitations are 36mm X 60mm, and there are a bunch of motors that meet those requirements. I also have learned enough to know that the motor isn't the entire answer. There is a balance between the boat, the motor, the prop and probably the battery. I also know that a lot of this is due to a lot of hard work and trying different combinations. Unfortunately, the majority of my time is spent in Pennsylvania, I have no locations to do any testing. (Still looking). So I kind of have to figure this out on my own without the benefit of trying it out. Besides, when you're out there running by yourself, how can you tell how fast your boat is in comparison to others.