Thread: How to determine the motor "wind"

Default How to determine the motor "wind"

What's the best way to determine the wind of a motor when its wind is unknown?

Google it? I know, seems like an "evasive" way of answering your question...but, in all honesty, that's how I started learning a good portion of RC-related stuff.

~ More peace, love, laughter, & kindness would make the world a MUCH better place

If you know the size of the motor and the kV, you can usually go to the manufacturer's website and get that info. If you do not know the kV, you can still determine the wind D or Y be looking at how the wiring is terminated inside the top of the can. I have forgotten which is which and what it looks like, but it's likely in a donhuff post here somewhere.
    Vac-U-Tug Jr (13mph)

Quote Originally Posted by fweasel View Post
    If you know the size of the motor and the kV, you can usually go to the manufacturer's website and get that info. If you do not know the kV, you can still determine the wind D or Y be looking at how the wiring is terminated inside the top of the can. I have forgotten which is which and what it looks like, but it's likely in a donhuff post here somewhere.
    It?s a TP (TP 5690) Motor ordered special from China. The KV of 680 is offered under Y and D winds and the 3rd party seller isn?t sure which wind I got. I figured I could take it apart to see the winding configuration, but I was hoping for a nifty trick or tip that makes it even simpler like maybe the controller could auto sense the wind or something to that affect.

Quote Originally Posted by Panther6834 View Post
    Google it? I know, seems like an "evasive" way of answering your question...but, in all honesty, that's how I started learning a good portion of RC-related stuff.

~ More peace, love, laughter, & kindness would make the world a MUCH better place