Thread: motor and esc size?

Default motor and esc size?

I am new to fe boats. My 8yo son decided he wanted to get into rc boats. I am a carpenter by trade. We decided to scratch build a mystic that's 36 inches long. The question is what size motor and esc should I run in it. We will be running 3s batteries to begin with since we already have those from our electric truggies. Thank you

You can run two 3S packs in series to get 6S, which will give you enough voltage for some speed, or possibly RPM, to get a less than optimal hull design on plane. Not talking trash about your building skills, I just have no idea where you're starting point is. I would recommend a 40mm motor, with a length in the 74-82mm range, for which there are several manufacturers to choose from. Motor kV (RPM) would be in the 1600kV range for a sport setup. You could probably squeak by with a 120A ESC, but I'd recommend a 180-200A to give you some headroom.
    Vac-U-Tug Jr (13mph)

Ok thank you. Here's another question. Remember I'm new to boats. Why such a low kv motors. I'm use to high kv motor in our truggies
    Last edited by billydean676; 05-31-2020 at 08:09 PM.

I'm guessing I misunderstood you, and you did not actually build this hull. What's the make/model?

As for kV, no gearing in boats. 1600kV on 6S would put you around 35,000 RPM, reasonable for sport running. You can run upwards of 50,000 RPM for straight line (SAW) passes.
    Vac-U-Tug Jr (13mph)

You didn't misunderstand me. I have been raised around but my whole life built several boats that I fished out of and built other model boats from scratch the are just to be pretty. So that being said I'm not going to ague with you about my ability to build something out of wood and fiberglass. I have been doing it all my life. Maybe you should assume what a new members ability is without knowing the person or having seen there work.