Thread: ESC Recomendation

Default ESC Recomendation

Hi all,
    This is my first post so let me introduce myself. I used to run in rc cars races since 2005 but i am completely new in boats. I saw the UtilityShip project in thingiverse and i liked it so i started the printing process immediately. The ship is almost 1 meter long and the width is about 30cm. The weight might be something like 5 to 6 kilos because i am planning to add two motors SSS 56104/420KV with water cooling (the designer of the boat is using two AvrotoLIFT 3520 400kv). The props that i have already order (like the ones the designer of the ship is using) are 55mm Diameter M4 Thread 4 Blade Brass Props with Pitch 49.0mm. So these are the existing hardware. I would like reccomendations on ESC's and batteries. I read that Flier ESCs are great. But which type for these motors and these props? I read a lot of calculations that you are doing which i cannot understand. It will be very helpful if someone explain to me and suggest me some good esc's in order to avoid burning my boat.

One last thing, this is a ship, so i don't want to see it flying, i just want torgue, not speed.

Best Regards

Thomas

On 4s a small 20A ESC will do. Calculated speed, (if it was a planing boat) 420x14,8x49 =...0,304x60 = 18,2.... x 0,7 = 12,8 kmh/ 8 mph
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qLksIWYpI88

I appreciate your fast reply. As a newbie can you please explain me the numbers on the calculation?
    As i understand:
    420 = Motor KV
    14,8 = ??
    49 = Props Pitch

I am a bit lost. I am sorry for asking but i am completely new and i like to know how to do it

420 kv x14,8 volt, (4s lipo) x pitch = 6216 rpm x 49 mm pitch = 3045884 mm = 304,584 meter / min.....1000 meter a minut is 60 kmh. so its (60x 304,584) : 1000 = 18,2 kmt or 8 mph... That is the teoretic max speed at nominal volt. Normaly you can expect a planing mono to reach 70-80% of teoretic speed.