Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Noobie questions

Default Noobie questions

Hi Guys, I'm new to RC boats. Not new to rc, I've stick built and flone planes, kit built and raced trucks for a few years now. About a year ago a friend got a M41 and has been on me ever since to get one. well it's time! So i've been researching and lurking around this forum learning. And learning a lot!! Thanks!!
    I like the looks of the oval and offshore racing, I think novice class, of course, and P class. More than just SAW. Starting with a cat hull, I know steep learning curve!! But i like a challenge! I've got it down to 2, i like the pro marine MTR and OSE's cheetah, which they have a couple in stock, with the 4082 1600kv power option. What is the general opinion about these? Or am i over thinking all of this and should just get a veles 29 and be done? I have a futaba 4pls so buying a RX and a servo to install is not a problem.
    I know this is long winded, I'm a little OCD, tend to over ananlyze and explain things! Sorry! Any opinions, suggestion or comments welcomed!!! The knowledge base here is amazing and i look forward to learning more!!
    I'm plaing to attend a club race in indy sunday lookin forward to that, also next saturday there is one in cinci. Hopefully learn more after both of those events!!
    Thanks again in advance!!
    Brian
    They said this hobby was addictive! I had no idea!!!
    If i posted this in the wrong place i'm sorry! Please redirect me! Thanks

You really can't go wrong with any of the boats you mentioned.

My 2 cents on this...I've heard that there is a lot of problems and upgrades needed on the M41, it's a good starter boat but that's it. The MTR or In my opinion the cheetah is a good one. As far as racing class and best set up the more experienced would have to chime in.
    SW26 V3 Green 35mph , Swifter Hydro 26. Delta Force 35. cars ,3 Rustlers 45-76 Mph.