Thread: Brushless & LiPo conversion

Default Brushless & LiPo conversion

I have an old MRP Pantera I'd like to convert. It's about 25 inches long, weighs 3 Pounds fully loaded with a 7.2 x1200 battery and a 05 motor. I'm trying to do it on a budget. All suggestions are appreciated, any ideas? Thanks.

What is your budget?

I know It's going to run a few hundred. It needs a new radio, esc, motor, prop, battery's, coolant hoses, etc, but I'd like to keep the original 1/8 inch straight prop shaft. I already have a venom charger. I have several nitro boats but they are too challenging for a stroke survivor and I'm new to this brushless/LiPo technology. Any other questions? Day 2. I've removed almost everything. I'm having to cut off the motor coupler because someone apparently lost the set screw and decided to glue it to the shaft with CA. I have decided to replace the shaft with a 4mm unit and I ordered a 3/16 prop adapter along with a 5mm to 4mm coupler also a water cooled motor mount for a 3650 motor. Are you with me?
    Last edited by Mad Hatter; 09-04-2018 at 12:42 PM.

Ok, so know one is going to help me out because I haven't posted any pictures. I understand I'll Learn how, and I'll give you a full budget report.

OK, I was looking for advice, obviously it ain't going to happen.Im ordering a leopard motor, 3650 leopard 2290 KV at 14.8 volts it should produce 33,892 RPM. Next I think I should have to pick out a esc I was considering OSE the 150 amp unit. Thanks For All Your input.

Maybe, it's just that no one here knows what an MRP Pantera is. I certainly don't. And without pictures of it, any advice would be just guesswork. No-one likes giving information based on guesswork.
    Can you post some pictures of it?

Mad Hatter, sounds like you have a good grasp on what needs to be done... as for esc, i have the flycolor 150 (same as the OSE but ships without connectors attached) and its been faithfully running for a while now...