Thread: How do you store your Li-po's

Default How do you store your Li-po's

So I have been using Li-po's since about 2006 and I only have a had few puff up on my after running (I of course disposed of those properly and never brought them in the house). I have a few that are 9 years old. I have always stored them in the house at storage voltage and always charge them in a Li-po bag. I don't think these battery's are unsafe in storage. I think they only pose a hazard during running, right after running, charging, and if they get physical damage or shorted. On another one of my threads I have a picture and you can see Li-po's being stored on a shelf. I was told to store them outside. I'm now going to store them in a ammo tin but I don't see the point in putting them outside, I live in MI and the temps can go from -20 in the winter to high 90's in the summer. I think it would be best still storing them inside but in the ammo tin just in case. Thoughts? Opinions?

After almost burning my house down while charging 6S packs in parallel, I store mine outside in an old cleaned up BBQ, works great, lots of space and of course designed to handle a fire! My temps usually don't go much below zero in the winter and summers are not too hot. Someone on here a while back had a pretty cool design of a box made out of flame-proof drywall for indoor storage, maybe someone will chime in with a link.

Quote Originally Posted by Lone-Wolf View Post
    After almost burning my house down while charging 6S packs in parallel, I store mine outside in an old cleaned up BBQ, works great, lots of space and of course designed to handle a fire! My temps usually don't go much below zero in the winter and summers are not too hot. Someone on here a while back had a pretty cool design of a box made out of flame-proof drywall for indoor storage, maybe someone will chime in with a link.