Thread: Trim guide and hull tuning questions

Default Trim guide and hull tuning questions

I've done some searching for a definitive trim guide for Deep V boats. I just got a DF 33 which runs stable but I think it's too wet. I've been flying model planes for about 11 years now, and we use these detailed trim guides that give a nice sequence to go through to trim out unwanted characteristics and get a model performing to its best potential. I've found some guides explaining raising the nose and lowering it, which was easy enough to figure out with basic physics. Are there any guides that go deeper than that?

My other question is do many monohull builders take the time to flatten the bottom of the hull and sharpen the trailing edge at the transom? When I had a catamaran, blueprinting the sponsons was a necessity. Obviously, the trim tabs are set right at that rounded edge at the back, but I can't help but think a smooth transition would be better. Is this a significant factor, or am I overthinking it?

A good starting point for cg on a mono is 30% forward from the transom, Also check the last 25% of the bottom with a straight edge to see if theirs any hook ( hollow ) as this will suck the boat down onto the water causing it to run wetter with the bow down slowing the boat. If the bow is down a bit you can also raise the bow & get it to run looser by angling the strut up prop end ( positive angle ).

There are many tuning guides out there, some better than others. These are two of my favorites.

http://rcboats.kiwi/index.php/ct-men...t-menu-item-33

https://rcraceboats.webnode.gr/news/...speed-secrets/

ERROR 403 - This is not the page you are looking for

I have one of these, easiest thing to make it ride less wet is to adjust strut or move CG back, CG is usually first adjusted by moving batteries. Post your setup or pictures of the setup to evaluate. The DF 33 rides on the small flat ride pad at the rear of boat.