Thread: What is the best hull to break 100MPH?

Default What is the best hull to break 100MPH?

So for my next new boat build I would like one that can break 100MPH reliably. So single Cat? Dual Cat? or JAE 33? What would be best and why? This will be straight line speed no need for turns as I live on a canal and do straight line speed runs.

I'm no expert, but my observations indicate that a narrow, long cat hull, with twin power will improve the reliability of making triple digits on a regular basis, which is an oxymoron, because there's twice as much that can go wrong. More voltage, less amps, will also make things better.
    Vac-U-Tug Jr (13mph)

Right on fweasel! I think I should have been a little more specific. So I want the triple digits and reliably without all the accidental flip overs. Yes a twin cat gives 2X the potential problems and cost but would a big twin cat be better or the JAE 33 on some massive power? I'm ready to buy my next hull, should it be a custom twin cat or a outrigger like the JAE 33?

look at which hulls hold the quickest speed records and notice it is Outrigger Hydros. so build up a lightweight rigger and fit it out with a high kv motor etc etc then select the right prop and i am sure you will reach your goal., 2600 kv on 4s seems a fast choice .

It will take much less power to reach 100 mph with a rigger. Any fast boat can flip, but having set many SAW records with cats, and watching the big ones going over 130 mph, they will flip. Period.

If I wanted a 100 mph JAE33 I’d run 6S and a 1521-sized motor with a 2000-2200 Kv. A prop with 3-3.5” of pitch would get me there.

ERROR 403 - This is not the page you are looking for

Quote Originally Posted by Fluid View Post
    It will take much less power to reach 100 mph with a rigger. Any fast boat can flip, but having set many SAW records with cats, and watching the big ones going over 130 mph, they will flip. Period.