Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: New C5000 build from scratch

Post New C5000 build from scratch

Hello all,

A couple of months ago I posted a topic on this forum because I was all confused about possible motor/ESC combinations for my latest project. (that topic can be found here: https://forums.offshoreelectrics.com...e-Current-Draw)

Anyway, somewhere in that topic I was asked by another forum member if I would take pictures of the build and share it here on the forum. So, here we go.

For starters, I live in Belgium (Europe) so forgive me for some grammatical errors I will possibly make in this build log, because english in not my native language. Other then that, I hope you enjoy my pictures as much as I enjoy my build. Oh btw, I'm a slow builder, the pictures I will post today are work done over the last 12 months !!

So welcome all to my build log of the scratch build C5000 I'm currently doing.

It all started about a year ago. A friend of mine who came over for dinner was talking about some offshore races he had seen while he lived/worked in Australia a few year earlier. When I showed him my first cat (a wood build 36" simple catamaran model) he almost immediately asked me if I was willing to build one for him as well.

As it happens to be, I had some plans of a C5000 laying around (I believe they where once posted on this forum as well) which I had always wanted to build anyway, so I quickly agreed to his proposal, and decided I wanted to build at least 2 boats: one for my friend, but off course also one for myself.

Building 2 boats also meant that I would be doing this build a little different... I did not want to build 2 separate wood boats covered with a layer of fiberglass, but instead I decided to build a master plug which would allow me to create a mold, so that I could in turn create full fiberglass (or carbon) hulls.

First step was to check the digital drawings I had, make sure they were the right scale for me, and have them lasercut for me.