Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: My TFL Genesis Chronicles

Default My TFL Genesis Chronicles

Hello everyone first post and trying not to make it too long. Got into R/C FE in the 80's and 90's then got out of the hobby for many years. Last few years been buying the old ones off Ebay and fixing them up, some converted to small brushless set ups. I wanted to go faster so decided I should get a modern boat (Genesis). I'm new to the high power brushless world, here is what happened so far.

I live on a 50 foot wide canal and do only straight high speed passes no high speed turns.

Genesis (one that looks like the real Aqua mania) stock SSS 2050kv, 120a Turnigy ESC, single 6s 45c 4500mAh on left side.

First run break plastic prop in about 30 seconds.

Second run 6s with X440 lost rudder pin in about 1 minute, fixed that broke flex cable in about another minute but I think I hit some weeds.

Third run 6s I had adjusted the strut and way too low, it was fast and stable but too wet and too many amps for the 120a ESC and it burnt up.

Ordered HW 180a ESC and program card, UBEC, , and a bunch of props, x442, x445, m445, x642.

Forth run 4s with 180a ESC (3.75 timing), UBEC (red wire cut on ESC RX plug), still X440, single 4s 45c 4500mAh on left side with strut raised ran great but I want more speed.

Fifth run 4s same set up as forth run before but I raised the strut again but I think I raised it too much handling sucks, porpoise really bad.

Now on order, everything to convert to 3/16 flex cable, dual water pickup rudder and all that stuff for separate cooling, leopard 3074 1650kv motor (might be starting issue with Ebay on the motor, been two weeks and have not received), will just be buying from here from now on, I got a bunch of this stuff from here fast shipping no problems.

So am I heading in the right direction to get this boat running good on 6s??

Thanks Jason