Thread: Painting a windshield

Default Painting a windshield

Hi guys,

Here is a tip for painting a windshield onto your boat. My background is in doing scale models so I had everything needed already on hand, but it's all simple stuff you can pick up at your LHS or order online.

As always, before starting painting do the necessary prep work, eg light sanding, cleaning surface etc. Also obviously your hull colour(s) should already be completed.

IMG_3187.JPG

What I have done here is attached a paper template I had printed off onto the hatch just using a couple of spots of blue-tak. You can take this off and re-position as needed till you are happy with its location.

(in this case above as I have a Tenshock/Minicat Racing micro hydro, I printed off the picture of the decal sheet from their website, then cut out the windshield to use as a template. To ensure the cutting of the curves were exactly the same for the left and right hand side of the windshield, i folded the template in half and then cut, then unfolded and placed onto the hatch.)

If no template is available then try drawing some windshield designs on paper and cut them out.

Also in the photo above you can see some very narrow (2mm wide) masking tape I have applied that follows the line of the template. This tape is used to mask curves as it is so thin it can bent and manipulated. Tamiya have recently introduced some vinyl masking tape for curves, I haven't tried it, but being Tamiya should be high quality and work well. Here is a link to the stuff https://www.ebay.com.au/p/?iid=262705694497&&&chn=ps

IMG_3188.JPG

In this photo above i have now taken off the paper template, leaving just the outline of tape. This is the hardest part done.

IMG_3189.JPG

Here I have started to mask around the tape using some thicker Tamiya tape (8mm). It is important that this tape overlaps the previous thin tape outline, but not enough so that intrudes inside the windshield area where you will be painting.