Thread: Getting out of 2 strokes and into a brushless li-po. where to start?

Default Getting out of 2 strokes and into a brushless li-po. where to start?

(Edited for my new location and situation)

Hello,

I'm new to the electric side of this hobby. 11 years ago I was all in with a dumas 55" fiberglass V-hull rocking a 2 stroke zenoah G260 motor, surface drive, etc. It was unreliable, loud, but ran 48mph with a garmin strapped to it.

I'd like to get something electric, easier to maintain, (edited out the rough water requirement) and have fun on the lake in my backyard. I'd like to try a catamaran this time.

What should I start looking at?

I'm a bit clueless on the battery pack designations and technology. I have small li-po's in my micro helicopters and 1/18th scale brushless car, but a boat is a whole new level of li-po sizing.
    Last edited by zimm; 08-20-2017 at 01:38 PM.

Well after reading for 20 minutes, the Pursuit brushless v-hull looks like it might work. I'd like to stay around $400 with radio, battery, charger and boat. What's the hot set up for a pursuit? Prop, batts, charger, and radio to get?

Its a good boat:

https://www.offshoreelectrics.com/pr...s+RTR+%26+ARTR

But your budget is simply not enough...

Boat $360.
    Radio.....$50-$100
    Battery....$50-$100 ..if you get one, remember you get on average 4ish minutes run time on a 5000 mah battery and will need to recharge.
    Charger......$50-$100

What about the pursuit for $224? https://hobbyking.com/en_us/pursuit-...A&gclsrc=aw.ds

Is the TFL one worth 1/3 more money for the upgrades? I'm not racing, in fact it'll only get used a few times a year.

Quote Originally Posted by Doby View Post
    Radio.....$50-$100
    Charger......$50-$100
    Not even close on either. It's more like...radio...$150-$300, charger...$175-$300
    Buy right or buy twice, your choice. But I guess all that isn't really necessary if the boat will only be used a few times a year.