Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Just joined the Zelos 36" club today

Default Just joined the Zelos 36" club today

I am new to this hobby. I have been running a Motley Crew for a bit and found that I am hooked on this as you guys are. I was going to upgrade the Motley Crew, but decided to keep it as it is and go with the Zelos. I am also into fast full sized boats. I own a fast Checkmate and am a marine mechanic, do it for a living. I am finding this hobby very interesting.
    I have been reading through all the threads here about the Zelos. I have PM'ed Raphael , he has answered me quickly and thoroughly. Not everyday you can actually talk to the guy who designed what you are about to spend your $$$ on. Impressive.
    Today, I ordered a Zelos 36 from Horizon. Should be here mid next week. I am going to go over it as you guys have described, before it gets wet. I learned a lot here. My next acquisition will be lipos. I am looking at these...

http://www.smc-racing.net/index.php?...product_id=399

Any experience good or bad with them? Looking to run 2 3s in series to each motor. As per Raphaels' advise, I have ordered the "Y" adapter from Horizon so as to run the batteries in series to get 6s for each motor.

Thanks for any advice.

Hello and Welcome to the Zelos 36" Club!
    Great boat and Rafael is a great guy.
    Have fun and enjoy.

Happy Boating,
    Brian

Personally, I choose to run 5000mAh 3S packs. Those 7200 might be physically too big to slide in under the deck, especially if you plan on running 4 packs. I'm a fan of the Revo graphene batteries and have had excellent results with them in my Zelos last summer. When you get your series harnesses, make sure they're wired properly. Many are shipped with incorrect polarity and need to be repinned. I also think the red grease that comes in the teflon liners is too thick. I would clean it out and replace with the Proboat blue marine grease.

Fun boat, enjoy!
    Vac-U-Tug Jr (13mph)