Thread: TFL Small Bolt Hydro

Default TFL Small Bolt Hydro

I am new to RC Boats and am considering purchasing a TFL Smal Bolt Hydro. The recommended battery is 2200 mah. I am wondering what C rating it needs to be. The recommendation is 2S or 3S.

Also can anyone give an approximate run time to expect say from a 2S 2200 battery.

Thanks

Richard

It all depends... for a large part on the prop you use, but also on further finetuning measures you take. I think average continuous currents will stay underneath 20A and peaks will also be limited.

C-rating: 20C is okay, 30C might last a little longer. Never deeply discharge (keep 30% reserve), never store fully charged.

Mine just arrived Friday and I am beginning to mess with it.. very nicely made little boat indeed.

Run time? Will totally depend on your throttle finger, the prop you install, and how much native drag is in the over-size cable drive line.
    I'll be looking at a wire drive set-up for this awesome little boat if I can get it to run really well otherwise.

You may want to go with 3s 2200 (fits no problem) and a Octura 432 prop.

Keep in mind, plowing through the water slowly with a hydro (or any boat) will not really yield longer run times.
    Get it up on plane where it is much more efficient, and keep it there. You'll also get better water flow through the esc/motor, which in turn will run a little cooler.

For this boat the 1.5mm wire-drive I normally use, would be perfect (http://www.drpsychoteam.de/). I can assure you, I built the aforementioned wiredrive in many mini-hydros and they have accepted a lot of abuse over the years never letting me down. Reason: it is made with small tolerances (i.e. high precision).