Thread: Twin motor setup on my 46" mono - what do you think

Default Twin motor setup on my 46" mono - what do you think

Hi guys,

I'm new to fast electric boats but have been into RC for a lomg time so not a total newbie.
    I was just wondering if I could get your thoughts on my setup, wrong, right, inderefent etc.

The boats 46" long and 11" wides, twin props. It has 2 x Leopard 4074 1050kv motors, 2 x 200amp esc's, 42mm props and I'm planning to run 2 x 6s 50c 5000mah batteries, one to each esc.

Its not a race boat, just for fun. So after a solid and reliable setup, not looking to set the world on fire (or the boat for that matter lol)

Any and all advice welcome Thank you.
    Still in dry dock... But planning to get wet soon.

Well that should run well. I have a 40" that has 1180kv TPpower 4074's in it and it is a hoot. You may need bigger props but starting small is a good idea.
    Have you setup the ESC's? Calibrated? Lubed the cables(prop flexes)?

I run 42mm but it is on 8s too. 4800mah packs and 10 mins play time. I would venture a guess at 5-6 mins for your setup once it is tuned.
    Start with balancing the hull lengthwise on a rod(dowel). With it all loaded it should balance somewhere around 14" from the transom. This is just a starting point. See if it hops going straight or hooks in a corner. Then we adjust from there. Just do a 1min run and check on things.

Shawn

Thanks for the reply mate So you dont think I'm over or under powered? I was worried it would be a bit sluggish but I dont want to burn it up first time out either.
    Going to do what you said, take her out as is, see how it runs and get the boat balanced, then maybe add bigger props if the temps are all ok. If the speed bug really bites I'll go 8s but will have to uprate the ESC's.

You would be surprised how well 42's can push a decent sized boat
    https://youtu.be/6-KjgtRim_Q

Quote Originally Posted by srislash View Post