Thread: Outboard vs inboard turning propellers on a catamaran... What are the benefits?

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Default Outboard vs inboard turning propellers on a catamaran... What are the benefits?

Hi everyone! I decided to experiment on way props are spinning on a cat. Don't think i'm an expert! I'm way from being that. But still i wanted to see what would be the results.

Here are my observations from what i have noticed on my brand new C1 Flowmaster twin motor cat.

-speed increase,0.4 km/h.(not big, but it is there)
    -Better turning abilities.(the lifting effect of the props going outward the boat gives a lifting effect that keep the boat to flip over( at some point, remember, it is a cat.))
    -Again, beter turning abilities. ( The water being pushed upward, in the middle of the transom, gives more bite to the rudder.)
    These are my first observations about this setup.

If anyone have more info,experience with twin motor cats, observations, or theories, please comment!

In full scale cat's, I believe inboard rotation gives you more top end speed. Since we're considering RC boats that are driven at wide open throttle the majority of the time, and are traveling at an outrageous scale speed, it makes sense for you to actually see a slight top speed increase with inboard rotation. Outboard rotation may give you better control at really low speeds, in a full scale boat, but I don't think too many guys are concerned with docking their RC boat.