Thread: Wasabi Wooden Offshore Mono Hull.

Default Wasabi Wooden Offshore Mono Hull.

Our club is starting an Offshore mono & Cat class this year as a demonstration class. If there are enough entries throughout the year, it will become a fully fledged race class next year.

Well, always up for a challenge I decided to build a wooden mono, as I've never built one before.

CornelP posted some plans of a Wasabi 900 some time ago, & I know he has had some success with the hull.
    Although the freeboard is probably a bit low for Offshore racing, I have always liked the look of the hull & thought I'd give it a go, blown up to 44" in length.

I've made a few alterations.
    Firstly I had to remove the ride pad as we are not allowed them for racing here in Australia. I simply just made it a rounded V.

Secondly I didn't use the motor mount frames because I will be making it a twin drive mono. And outrunners at that. Well, if you are going to stuff something up, you might as well stuff it up properly.

So two of these on a 6s pack each will drive it.

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...ass_Heli_.html

Here's a few pics so far.

Cheers.
    Paul.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Man Paul you are one building machine do you ever sleep?
    "Our society strives to avoid any possibility of offending anyone except God.
    Billy Graham

Hi Jim.
    Yeah! I get a bit of a kip in now & then.

Looking good, and tough!
    MODEL BOAT RACER
    IMPBA President
    District 13 Director 2011- present
    IMPBA National Records Director 2009-2019
    IMPBA 19887L CD
    NAMBA 1169

Thanks Doug.
    Yep. 4mm ply formers & 6mm stringers. 1.5mm skins.

Managed to spend a bit of time on this one yesterday.
    Fitted the side skins & the angled deck skins.
    I'll have to seal the inside with epoxy resin & add the foam before I add the top deck.