Thread: Single VS Twin

Default Single VS Twin

ok so I am very new to the the boat thing I just rebuilt an mg29 and love it.. but I have a dilemma!! I have a rivercat hull on the way and I keep flip flopping on how I want to build it. first thought was to build a twin because I already have a single drive cat and I just picked up a couple motors in a trade that would work for now that way I can spend the real money on good esc's and drives.. but building a single is a much more simple and strait forward set up and I have seen them attain speeds that well match what a twin can do as well as less potential for failure one motor one esc.. at least thats the way I see it... so my question is what are the pro's and cons from both side's as it seems that there are those who lean more towards single and those that like twins so help me out I have only run a single and only seen a twin in video and am torn as to how to build this killer little hull......

Your right Double Trouble!

32" carbon rivercat single 4s 102mph, 27” mini Rivercat 92mph, kbb34 91mph, jessej micro cat(too fast) was

Cool

I built a 90 mph single-drive Rivercat clone, speed is not the differentiator in a boat this size. To me the Rivercat is too small for an effective twin installation especially if you have not done one before. Room is scarce and installing the parts will be frustrating. While it can and has been done, a larger hull just makes more sense. But either way it will be a fun boat to run, just don't expect it to turn like a mono.

ERROR 403 - This is not the page you are looking for

You're right about speed potential, technically a single is more efficient in the same sense that a 2 blade prop is more efficient than a 3 blade.
    I disagree in terms of potential for failure though, I think you have that one backward. Yes, there are two motors and ESCs, but they are loaded/stressed less than a comparable single prop setup.