Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: R-42 Twin Beast

Default R-42 Twin Beast

I have had this on the shelf for awhile but I am really excited to get on it. I have here an AC Boats R-42 that I would love to rip up the course with the gas guys and Especially Andy.

So here is what I have:

R-42 Hull
    A pair of Castle 1717's
    A pair of FighterCat 300 amp 8s ESC's
    UBEC
    Two MBP 5mm-.250 Collets
    Speedmaster Short round bottom struts(yes,,, STRUTS)
    Right and left .250 cables stepped to 3/16
    Assorted Speedmaster rudder parts.

Two projects at one time? You have the mono going with the twin drive as well!

I started playing with things for layout and CG. So some have put twin motors in hulls like this on the tunnel but I want to run them in the sponsons. You know, a 1717 is a healthy sized motor but when I put it in the sponson...

I am running struts and flood tubes so that I can change the prop height in the water for a change in a twin cat. I am also going to try to take advantage of the hooked right sponson which Andy designed into these hulls. The inside running sponsons last step is 1/4" deeper in the water than the outside one.

So there will be no CF inlay or anything in this one. Andy has done such a nice clean job I would hate to cover it up and it DOES NOT need the strength.

Quote Originally Posted by Ken_NJ View Post
    Two projects at one time? You have the mono going with the twin drive as well!
    That thing just needs some tuning and paint now Ken. Time to start on another.

I am also going to try to take advantage of the hooked right sponson which Andy designed into these hulls. The inside running sponsons last step is 1/4" deeper in the water than the outside one.