Thread: Battery setup

Default Battery setup

Hi Everyone, I am fairly new to the rc boat scene. Been running a geico24 in standard form for a while and just now got an impulse 31 v2. Little question I take it from the general blogs around that without upgrading the terminals etc and the fact that Proboat have changed their battery requirements that its best to run only 4 s and not 6s. Onto my main question, the wiring is setup for (2) 2s in series making 4s. Is it worthwhile changing this to parallel and running (2)4s would there be any reduction in amps available. Also if parallel is a possibility could I safely run (2) 5s in parallel on stock components. What is the general feeling on Turnigy nanotech batteries. One question turned into a few sorry about that. Any help appreciated.
    Last edited by jim Ball; 01-09-2014 at 03:28 AM.

Hi Jim Ball,

Congratulations on the Impulse 31 V2, I really enjoy mine.

I re-read your email tonight and I believe you might have edited your wording a little, as you appeared to have had you series and parallel mixed up on your original post. It makes more sense now.

To answer your questions directly – You could change the wiring to be parallel and either run with a pair of 4s or 5s batteries. The stock motor and ESC would handle this. There would be no reduction in amps, as it is the motor which determines how much current is required, but you would have longer run times.

But my suggestion would be to leave the wiring in series so you can run 4s (two 2s packs), 5s (one 2s and one 3s pack), or 6s (two 3s packs). My preference is the 5s. Having two batteries in parallel only increases your run time, but adds additional weight to your boat which will affect the setup and performance.

My suggestion would be to upgrade all connectors to 5.5mm, on the battery, ECS and motor. Run with 5s (one 3s and one 2s pack).
    Run until the batteries are suitably low and then bring the boat in, check temps, replace batteries and go out again.