Thread: Powerplant Question

Default Powerplant Question

Question*

I just purchased a 36" Catamaran (fiberglass) that will be working from ground up. This is my first time doing this, I have had drift cars, expensive rc airplanes but never really paid attention to what moves it. With this boat I'm doing it different, I'm not buying a RTR boat, I'm building it up. Just now I learned there were brushed, brushless, sensor, motors so understand that I'm trying to learn as quick as I can.

I need help putting the right electronics and power plant in this boat. I will be a twin prop and a budget is not a big of a deal as this will be a long term project. I need recommendations for a vary fast motor, esc, battery, etc. although I don't have a budget if there is an esc that goes for $80 that does the same job as the $250 I'm most likely to purchased the $80. I also plan on pay for a custom paint job and wrap a few logos and designs.

Please, help me as much as you can, any knowledge and positive tips are accepted.

I saw your post on Jim's but wanted to wait until you posted here as suggested. Before we can help you we need to know the specifics of your hull (exact name and maker) and your expectations for the final product - exact speeds, expected run time, your type of running (oval racing, sport running, SAW running). There are so many different ways to go with a hull this size we need more info to help you get the most enjoyment from your build. A photo may help if this is not a well-known hull.

ERROR 403 - This is not the page you are looking for

I purchased the R2Hobbies 36 catamaran. http://www.r2hobbies.com/36-rc-ep-si...-boat-arr.html I'm still waiting for it so I have no pictures. I want to run it fast, aiming to start no slower than 60mph if capable and work my way to even faster. Run time I want what's normal yet efficient. As of racing, oval to start.