Thread: Impulse V2 Motor swap

Default Impulse V2 Motor swap

Ok guys this may be a dumb question as i'm new to this, but can I swap the 1800KV motor in my Impulse with the 1500KV motor in my Shockwave V3 BL? I plan to run 6s in the Impulse and I run 3s in the Shockwave. Every thing i've read has seemed like people think the Impulse would be a better all around boat with the 1500 in it. The 1500 would bring me down to 33,000 rpms instead of almost 40,000. Also this swap (if it would work) would raise the rpms of my Shockwave from 16,000 to 20,000, which i think will make this boat faster? I would really apreciate any comments on this guys, it seems to good to be true if this would work lol.
    Thanks

yes,it would work.i'd be changing the bullets to 5.5mm though if you are going to run 6s quite a lot though on the Impulse,just to be safe.

Does anyone have a guesstamate of how much this would slow down the impulse and speed up the shockwave?
    And now that I know it would work, but you never said if it was a good idea or not?

Quote Originally Posted by Tyler83 View Post
    Does anyone have a guesstamate of how much this would slow down the impulse and speed up the shockwave?
    And now that I know it would work, but you never said if it was a good idea or not?
    I can answer this... I think...

Let's start with the Shockwave 26... 1500KV power system out of the original Miss Geico (45A ESC and 1500KV 6-Pole BL Motor)...

This boat would perform very well on 3S with the 1800KV motor. And it would be a "safe" setup (reletive to how much any of these systems are "safe")...

If you want to run a pair of 3S packs in the IM31, then doing it with the 1500KV motor would definitely be a "safer" setup than using the 1800KV motor, at least with the current generation of motors. 1500KV will draw less amps, given the same prop, which is important because the motor wires are relatively small gauge.