Thread: UL1 newb Qs

Default UL1 newb Qs

Only boating for 2weeks and only had the UL1 in the water 2 times. So please bear with me. Straight out of the box it's a rocket. I know the hydro doesn't like left turns but this one almost doesn't turn. Right turn on the other hand was better. So I went to my LHS to pick up a M445 prop but settled with the Grim 42x55. I messed with with the set up. Moved the strut from 7/8 to 1". I left the tilt alone since it naturally pointed down as i moved the strut. I'm going from what the manual said about the rudder and turn fin. Just for giggles I set the fin all the way up (pos) and the rudder -.5* towards the hull to see if I can pull tighter right turns. COG---- batteries as far forward.

With this set up it planed quick. Like I said I'm new to this so I don't know how it should ride on the water. Looked like the stern was was riding low and it looked like the hull was riding at the very corner of the pad. Should I tilt the the strut more so the bow rides more on the pads.

Left turn still bad. Right was a lot better but maybe another -.5* more if it allows me. OR I don't know how to drive the thing. Lol Thanks for your time

Don't bother with left turns. You're wasting your time there.
    As far as adjustments, try different stuff. You'll find a good compromise of speed and stability the more you play.
    A well set up ul1 will turn at full throttle no problem.
    Hope this helps