Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Impulse 31 v2 or Traxxas spartan

Default Impulse 31 v2 or Traxxas spartan

I am buying a new boat and will be running it on a pretty large lake with a lot of action. I have read enough that i want a v-hull and have narrowed it down to these two boats. Does anyone have the pros and cons of these boats? I have lots of experience in rc cars and trucks but just starting in boats.

Welcome Kyle,
    In a lake with lots of action your choice of a V-hull is a sound one. As a heads up, the Spartan has received alot of negative feedback here at the Forum, you should spend sometime reading them, I don't like to give comments on something that I don't own, but here is the truth: Back when I first saw the Spartan, I liked the size and the deep V, I know it can handle some chops. But one day I was running an UL-1 and a guy showed up with a new Spartan, I was surprised at how it felt and looked "in person". I prefer Fibre Glass Hull, that the Spartan is not, plastic is very flexible, not my cup of tea. He had only run it a few times and already smoked the ESC, was on his warrantied second ESC, of course that was V1 of the Spartan. I decided then and there that it is not for me. Current V2 has a CC Engineered ESC.
    A few members here modified their Spartan so it runs reliably, but in my opinion this is not for a first time buyer. I know you have alot of experiences with RC, just be aware of these issues.
    I have a Pursuit instead, it is shorter , about 4" shorter than the Spartan. I 've been happy with the boat. https://forums.offshoreelectrics.com/...suit-Mono-kits.
    Have you also looked into the Aqua Craft Revolt 30 besides the Impulse 31?
    You will get many helpful suggestions , hope you will find the boat you like and for the enviroment you will be running in.
    Cheers!