Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 30 of 41

Thread: Brand New Mini Mono ESC Questions. 2013

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    126

    Post Brand New Mini Mono ESC Questions. 2013

    I just got this boat in the water the other day, and it ran fine. I was running it today and she crapped out after 30 seconds of being in the water. I pulled her out and everything looked fine, re connected the battery and went thru the pre boating check list. lol. make sure everything works! steering and throttle. everything worked, and about 30 seconds after that the motor wouldnt spin at all even at full throttle. I've read the Forums on the topic and I'm curious if the Hobby Wing SeaKing 60 http://www.offshoreelectrics.com/pro...ker-seaking-60 would be too much. I've got a SeaKing 180 in my Proboat Mystic and its been a dream to run, totally flawless, Plus I've got the programming card. I was looking for a 40a esc, but I like the way the 60 is constructed, with the water cooler built in, and compatible with my programming card..

    does anyone have any experience with an upgraded esc in a Mini Mono?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    5,666

    Default

    Even though I don't have a Mini Mono, I can tell you that the Seaking 60 amp ESC would be very good for the out runner you have, I had a similar out runner in another boat that I am using this ESC, bullet proof. Also, I have a Hydro that uses this: http://www.offshoreelectrics.com/pro...ker-seaking-35 in place of its original ESC, the motor is just like this one as well.. This little ESC has also proved to be extremely reliable. Here is a vid. with that ESC and motor: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CiT_t...ature=youtu.be

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    126

    Default

    looking to put a Velineon VXL - 3m Brushless Power System:1/16 by Traxxas into this little hull. I stopped by the local hobby shop, and bought a 40A ESC. It looked the same as the Stock AquaCraft 20A ESC. And unfortunately it didnt fix my problem. it'll run for about 5 minutes, then stops. Its like the motor wont spin, or has a spot where it wont turn. (hard to describe). Guess I should get an inrunner for it and quit messin with the outrunner motor.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    On
    Posts
    7,250

    Default

    Have you checked the LVC on the new controller.....what battery are you using?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    126

    Default

    LVC? what is that? Im using a G-Force 1000mAh 30c 11.1v 3 cell

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    MI
    Posts
    1,509

    Default

    Low Voltage Cutoff. What 40A esc are you using? There should be instructions. There are few parameters that need to be set.
    "There's nothing else I really want to do other than get up and build boats." - Mike Fiore

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    MT
    Posts
    151

    Default

    I have a Seaking 60A in my MM. Some minor mods, and it fits nicely.
    If you are running stock, just put a Seaking 30A, really good.
    I just change to a 60A ESC because I am running another motor.
    Here is a pinture, let me know if you have any question.
    Cheers.
    ImageUploadedByTapatalk HD1362234198.469012.jpg


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    5,666

    Default

    Looks good!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    nj
    Posts
    4,288

    Default

    Hey nice mod,
    You new you could get it in there.
    The open spot is for your cell right ?
    With that little extra weight it should ride a little better,
    And also handle some chop to.
    ? ONLY IF THEY WORK

    My youtube videos.http://www.youtube.com/user/61manx?feature=mhee

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    MT
    Posts
    151

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lenny View Post
    Hey nice mod,
    You new you could get it in there.
    The open spot is for your cell right ?
    With that little extra weight it should ride a little better,
    And also handle some chop to.
    Yes, the open spot with velcro is for the cell.
    The extra weight doesn't make any diffrence at all. I have a 3600kv motor, and at top speed it bounces from side to side....maybe it was to much juice for this little hull :)
    I am playing with some stuffs and trying to eliminate the bounce.

    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    126

    Default

    I installed a Traxxas 380 Velineon VXL3m into my mini mono. And it loses it's stability at 1/2 throttle. But it's a fun little boat. Wish I could find an aluminum rudder.

    Sent from my C771 using Tapatalk 2

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    MT
    Posts
    151

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Garrett View Post
    I installed a Traxxas 380 Velineon VXL3m into my mini mono. And it loses it's stability at 1/2 throttle. But it's a fun little boat. Wish I could find an aluminum rudder.

    Sent from my C771 using Tapatalk 2
    Are you with the stock trim tabs?
    What pop are you running?
    Any small aluminun rudder works.
    Post a picture of the electonics and outside.

    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    126

    Default

    Yes, I'm still using the stock trim tabs, I cut the turn fins off, less drag on the water. I'm running the 432 Octura copper propeller with a prop tail nut. I also installed an autobailer. I upgraded the prop shaft, Teflon lined, a new coupler, and a flex cable. I noticed if you cut a small hole in the cowling when it flips, it will take on water, then self right itself. Pictures on the way.

    Sent from my C771 using Tapatalk 2

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    126

    Default

    Sent from my C771 using Tapatalk 2
    Attached Images Attached Images

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    126

    Default

    The trailer is custom from Trailcom. SSDUnlimited.com


    Sent from my C771 using Tapatalk 2
    Attached Images Attached Images

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    126

    Default

    Sent from my C771 using Tapatalk 2
    Attached Images Attached Images

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    MT
    Posts
    151

    Default

    I have almost the same configuration, but the tream tabs are wider but not larger (from the aquacraft Rio).....not good solition. I am building news one, so to eliminate the torque bounce.
    If you get a better solution, share it :)
    Also running 430 prop, 432 was too much torque.
    Here is a pinture and I will post a video later
    By the way, nice MM and trailer.
    ImageUploadedByTapatalk HD1362448269.282049.jpg

    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    nj
    Posts
    4,288

    Default

    I would like to see some video of how it is running with the side to side torque.
    The prop is a little big for that hull, And you should make some longer trim tabs for it.
    Try a 30mm prop and adding about 1/2" longer to the stock size trim tabs and 1/2"wider.
    You will need to nip the starboard side one to miss the rudder bracket,
    But I think it may help a lot with it.
    There are a couple other mods you could do to the hull setup,
    To make it handle better, But not sure on how far you want to go in modding things.
    ? ONLY IF THEY WORK

    My youtube videos.http://www.youtube.com/user/61manx?feature=mhee

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    126

    Default

    This is my mystic that I modded. So I'm up to the challenge of tinkering.

    Sent from my C771 using Tapatalk 2

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    126

    Default

    Sent from my C771 using Tapatalk 2
    Attached Images Attached Images

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    nj
    Posts
    4,288

    Default

    Yes I just looked at your album,
    Looks like a nice truck with the mystic.
    Also can you take a picture right now of your mystic inside setup ?
    I need to check something on it.
    ? ONLY IF THEY WORK

    My youtube videos.http://www.youtube.com/user/61manx?feature=mhee

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    126

    Default

    Inside of the mystic as requested.

    Sent from my C771 using Tapatalk 2

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    nj
    Posts
    4,288

    Default

    Where ?
    ? ONLY IF THEY WORK

    My youtube videos.http://www.youtube.com/user/61manx?feature=mhee

  24. #24
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    126

    Default

    Where did you find that rudder? I just broke my plastic one today while shooting video.

    Sent from my C771 using Tapatalk 2

  25. #25
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    126

    Default

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wwbr...e_gdata_player

    Sent from my C771 using Tapatalk 2

  26. #26
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    MT
    Posts
    151

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Garrett View Post
    Where did you find that rudder? I just broke my plastic one today while shooting video.

    Sent from my C771 using Tapatalk 2
    1 1/2 Inch Micro Rudder w/ water pickup
    http://kintecracing.com/Hardware.html

    Can you explain how you do the self-rising modification in the cowling? Does it work every time?
    If you have picture….it would be great.

    Thanks.

  27. #27
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    126

    Default

    I just cut a hole in the cowling and when its upside down it fills with water and slowly rolls to the side because the weight in the bottom, and then I add some throttle.

    Sent from my C771 using Tapatalk 2
    Attached Images Attached Images

  28. #28
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    126

    Default

    I fabricated some new trim tabs from some old aluminum I had in the shop. What do you think?

    Sent from my C771 using Tapatalk 2
    Attached Images Attached Images

  29. #29
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    MT
    Posts
    151

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Garrett View Post
    I fabricated some new trim tabs from some old aluminum I had in the shop. What do you think?

    Sent from my C771 using Tapatalk 2
    What are the dimensions?
    They will definitely do the job….seems to me a little longer ¿?
    I will build mines on the weekend, but I will not cut the turn fins.
    Thanks for the sharing pictures.

  30. #30
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    126

    Default

    They're 1 1/2 inches wide at the rear, and one inch at the front.
    The tab from the hull to the end is 1 1/2". And overall is 1 3/4" inches.
    the material I used is thinner than the stock tabs, so I might need to install mine on top of the new ones for support.
    Sent from my C771 using Tapatalk 2
    Attached Images Attached Images

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •