Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345
Results 121 to 139 of 139

Thread: Castle Hydra Firmware

  1. #121
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    BC
    Posts
    5,190

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Joe Ford View Post
    Geez guys...I was at a show with no internet connection. I'm not leaving you hanging, I'm not running away, not going to ignore you...I was busy. I'm here now, ask away.

    Darin...thank you for answering some questions while I was gone...it is appreciated. :)

    I will talk with the engineers about the high timing voiding warranty situation. We'll see what they say...not my decision.

    Castle is very sorry for any frustration this debacle may have caused any of you. We knew some people would be upset but chose to just put it out there. We could have just fixed it, released 1.05/06, and not said another word. But that's not the way we do business...if we mess up we admit to it. So our apologies gents.
    Thank you Joe for your concern. I know we all mistakes but how did those wrong timing values get by engineering QC. No stone throwing ...just asking and thanks for your honesty.

    Douggie

  2. #122
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    WA
    Posts
    8,310

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Flying Scotsman View Post
    Thank you Joe for your concern. I know we all mistakes but how did those wrong timing values get by engineering QC. No stone throwing ...just asking and thanks for your honesty.

    Douggie

    Honestly Douggie, and with all due respect, I don't see how this is any of our business... It's a privately run company that will (and SHOULD) handle it's internal affairs internally... I'm sure they want to fix their processes to prevent this in the future... They've fixed the current issue and put it out there for us to use... that's the part that matters, and is our business...

    Hopefully they come up with a fix for the "plug-in and pop" problem with the HV series as well...
    Darin E. Jordan - Renton, WA
    "Self-proclaimed skill-less leader in the hobby."

  3. #123
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    KS
    Posts
    101

    Default

    I test some of the software features...the ones that don't require an EE degree...cutoff voltages, etc. Engineering does the rest...timing, PWM, current limiting. Unfortunately, engineering didn't realize the error until recently and are not sure how the timing values changed from the previous version. You can rest assured it won't happen again.
    Joe Ford
    Product Specialist/Surface Team Manager
    Castle Creations

  4. #124
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    BC
    Posts
    5,190

    Default

    True Darin, but it worries me. As I have had to explain to customers that their $300,000 equipment is not working, due to bad servo engineering. Sales guys hate product problems and the customer stating we are going to sue you for lost production.

    Douggie

  5. #125
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    KS
    Posts
    101

    Default

    From the engineering dept. If 16.25 degrees was working for you, we will cover you under warranty with v1.04 on high timing.
    Joe Ford
    Product Specialist/Surface Team Manager
    Castle Creations

  6. #126
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    333

    Default

    Hi Joe, thank you for visiting this forum and answering questions. We are lucky to have an American based company with real tech support like this. I am about to get my 6th Castle controller, and I never had one fail on it's own.

  7. #127
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    AK
    Posts
    310

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by andym View Post
    Tyler I for one would like to see a Etti cap bank on a CC esc. I think they are the week link and a bank like that can only help. Please give it a go and report on the cap temps without the bank and with the bank. Go on take one for the team mate, it wont hurt a bit!!
    Yea except for the wallet, stupid NZ dollar lol. $24.95 US= $44.70 NZ.
    Ironic though, chinky insurance on a US made product
    Won't make a big difference for me, i'm only running a 9XL(although i still can cook things with it) and just stuffed the bearings. Will have to do an order for a cap bank and some bearings.
    I get paid on thursday so we'll see how i look then.
    Props to Joe for coming on here though, great to have someone from castle to answer questions.
    Tyler.

  8. #128
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    ma
    Posts
    8,635

    Default

    Joe thanks for stepping up and telling the truth. I have dealt with many software companies in the past that have always denied there were problems with a product they supported, then all of a sudden after a software update the problem disappeared!

    As far as warranties go, there have been very few claims made by my customers that Castle has not covered. You wont find a better company out there that backs their products the way Castle Creations does.
    Steven Vaccaro

    Where Racing on a Budget is a Reality!

  9. #129
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    ON
    Posts
    2,247

    Default

    Right on Steven.


    Larry
    Past NAMBA- P Mono -1 Mile Race Record holder
    Past NAMBA- P Sport -1 Mile Race Record holder
    Bump & Grind Racing Props -We Like Em Smooth & Wet

  10. #130
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    IN
    Posts
    795

    Default

    After taking allot of time and reading this over again, I think my money is with Castle ESC's. My setups may need changing but for that heard set warranty, how can you go wrong. Thanks for the Explanation and if you ever need someone to test new equipment let me know!

    Quote Originally Posted by Joe Ford View Post
    Gentlemen...the following is what Castle's engineering department has found regarding the Hydra software versions. We spent quite a bit of time to test this.

    "Timing on version 1.03 does not operate as intended. Normal timing is approximately 16 degrees. I would consider this too high for optimum performance on most motors. If the timing was changed via Castle Link the result would be as follows:

    Low: 16.25 degrees
    Normal: 16.25 degrees
    Race: 10.75 degrees
    Extreme: 16.25 degrees

    If the timing was changed via stick programming and power was not removed directly after Motor Timing was set (in other words the user continued to set another setting such as Cutoff Voltage), then the timing was always set to 16.25 degrees.

    If the user unplugged the unit directly after Motor Timing was set, then the user would get the same timing values as Castle Link would set. (16.25,16.25,10.75,16.25)

    This obviously was not correct and was fixed in version 1.04. In version 1.04 the timing values are consistent if programmed via Castle Link or stick programming. The values are as follows:

    Low: 4.75 degrees
    Norm: 9 degrees
    High: 12.75 degrees
    Highest: 16.25 degrees

    I also tested the units on the bench to determine if there were any other issues that may have resulted in excess heat. I ran a controller to steady state temperature using the version 1.03 firmware on default timing. Then repeated the test with version 1.04. As expected, the timing was different between the two. Also, the temperature and current measurements were consistent with timing.

    The test running 1.03 firmware had a current draw of approximately 3 amps higher than 1.04. The steady state temperature of the 1.03 firmware test was approximately 3-4 degrees higher (as a result of the increased current).

    There are two known 'issues' with the Hydra software.

    Known issue 1: When updating from version 1.03 to 1.04 you MUST recalibrate. Failure to do so will cause the controller to not reach FULL THROTTLE (as indicated by the LED not going to a steady ON).

    Known issue 2: When stick programming voltage cutoff on either version 1.03 or 1.04 the programming options are 4, 5, 6, 7.2, 9, 12. However, in the instructions, they are listed as 4,5,6,9,12 (7.2 was removed when the instructions were written for the Hydra line).

    The customers who are using v1.04, and feel it has caused their boats to slow down and temps to increase are probably split into two camps.

    1) Those who forgot to recalibrate their unit after updating. These guys would likely see a very dramatic decrease in speed as a result of not reaching full throttle. They also would probably see an increase in temperature because they were consistently running at 90% throttle.

    2) Those who calibrated their unit and noticed a decrease in top end. This was probably accompanied by lower ESC and motor temperatures. This was caused by the timing being 'fixed'. You can see the numbers above, and if the user sets their timing to 'Highest' on v1.04, the unit should run exactly as it did using the v1.03 firmware."

    Sorry it took so long to get this data guys...we needed to make sure the results were 100% correct.

  11. #131
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    KS
    Posts
    101

    Default

    You guys who are running the new firmware experiencing any issues? Let me know...just like to get updates. No way for me to test...all the ponds are frozen.
    Joe Ford
    Product Specialist/Surface Team Manager
    Castle Creations

  12. #132
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    3,027

    Default

    Joe, with the Hydra 120 I am experiencing no issues with the new SW and FW.
    :::::::::::::::. It's NEVER fast enough! .:::::::::::::::

  13. #133
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    ca
    Posts
    6,789

    Default what's the bottom line ?

    I'm hoping those of you with sharper minds could bottom line the whole shebang for my poor terminally bewildered brain. Here's what I'm running :

    Hydra 240, V1.3, set to "normal", 4S2P, Neu 1515 1Y. 33 " DF mono.Runs perfectly, temps for 1 mile racing are just fine. [ A while ago, I programmed V 1.4 with the set of problems that were expected. Back to V 1.3 as above]

    Same as above, 8XL, 26 " cat.

    Should I change to V 1.4 with the new settings now disclosed or just leave things put ? What would I gain by changing/updating ? That's what I really want to know !

    I hate to admit that I'm just a little puzzled , but maybe someone could untangle this for me.
    2008 NAMBA P-Mono & P-Offshore Nat'l 2-Lap Record Holder; '15 P-Cat, P-Ltd Cat 2-Lap
    2009/2010 NAMBA P-Sport Hydro Nat'l 2-Lap Record Holder, '13 SCSTA P-Ltd Cat High Points
    '11 NAMBA [P-Ltd] : Mono, Offshore, OPC, Sport Hydro; '06 LSO, '12,'13,'14 P Ltd Cat /Mono

  14. #134
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Az
    Posts
    1,020

    Default

    Joe-I've updated all my CC controllers to 1.04, but have only had 1 on the water. LV 240 running a Neu 1515 1Y. It ran fine and looked every bit as good as 1.03, but I did not get specific temp readings. All I know is nothing was warm.

    However, I did stumble a bit on the radio re-calibration. Once I got that down, the ESC would hit full throttle.

    Tony-IMO if you keep the 1Y motor and you're currently happy with your amp draw, speed and temps, you may be fine as is. But, if you go to a D motor or some other setup that requires less timing, you'll need 1.04. If you update, just go through the instruction book again about re-calibration of the radio.

    I updated. Because I'm anal.

  15. #135
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    3,027

    Default

    Tony, get the latest "Link application" and install Firmware 1.04...
    after that RECALIBRATE THE ESC WITH THE Tx again (like the first time you use it: Full throttle and hold, then Full break, etc, etc...)
    That's all it takes.
    :::::::::::::::. It's NEVER fast enough! .:::::::::::::::

  16. #136
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    ca
    Posts
    6,789

    Default

    [QUOTE=D. Newland;72320] But, if you go to a D motor or some other setup that requires less timing, you'll need 1.04. /QUOTE]

    That may why , when I installed a 1521 1.5D, it was a slug with high battery temps. Ouch.
    2008 NAMBA P-Mono & P-Offshore Nat'l 2-Lap Record Holder; '15 P-Cat, P-Ltd Cat 2-Lap
    2009/2010 NAMBA P-Sport Hydro Nat'l 2-Lap Record Holder, '13 SCSTA P-Ltd Cat High Points
    '11 NAMBA [P-Ltd] : Mono, Offshore, OPC, Sport Hydro; '06 LSO, '12,'13,'14 P Ltd Cat /Mono

  17. #137
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    ON
    Posts
    2,247

    Default

    Joe

    The only problem that I ran into was:

    I changed one of my CC125’s over to V-4

    I could not get it to recalibrate to the radio.(would not recognize full brake)

    Changed it back to V-3 and recalibrated it to the radio on the first try.

    Changed it back to V-4 again, then checked all radio settings, I found that I had the brake set to 50%. Reset the brake to 100% and tried the recalibration. It worked on the first try.

    Why would the radio calibrate with the brake set at 50% with V-3, and not V-4???


    Larry
    Past NAMBA- P Mono -1 Mile Race Record holder
    Past NAMBA- P Sport -1 Mile Race Record holder
    Bump & Grind Racing Props -We Like Em Smooth & Wet

  18. #138
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    BC
    Posts
    5,190

    Default

    Tony, 1.04 is great as long as you recalibrate. If the ESC green light is blinking on full throttle...it should be steady...recalibrate as Joe has described.

    Douggie

  19. #139
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    3,027

    Default

    [QUOTE=properchopper;72325]
    Quote Originally Posted by D. Newland View Post
    But, if you go to a D motor or some other setup that requires less timing, you'll need 1.04. /QUOTE]

    That may why , when I installed a 1521 1.5D, it was a slug with high battery temps. Ouch.
    Do it, Do it, Do it, Do it, Do it, Do it, Do it, Do it,
    no pressure...
    :::::::::::::::. It's NEVER fast enough! .:::::::::::::::

Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •