Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Hey Guys anyone know what motor I can upgrade to with stock esc?

Default Hey Guys anyone know what motor I can upgrade to with stock esc?

Hello people I'm new to this Rc boating hobby and I have a stock Rio ep. I am running a 7.4v 5000mah NiMh i would really like to upgrade the motor before the esc and was wondering what motor I can use with the stock esc even if I have to cut down runtimes to cool everything down. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Here is a video of my second run with it.

Also what is a good brushed combo motor and esc to run in this boat I'd like to stay brushed for now.

Hey,
    That was my first rc boat and did a lot of testing and modding to it,
    I bought it used on CL for 75.00.
    Brushed I had it running pretty good and used a 8.4v nimh on stock motor and esc and ran the sh*t out of it,
    And the motor got hot a lot and burned the brushes up a few times on me.
    The first Esc burned out in the stock location,
    Pushing a p230 on 8.4v prop at that time.
    The first Esc's were very weak that they put in it, Bad QC.
    When I got the new esc Warranted I mounted it on top of the motor cooling coil,
    It worked a lot better there in the open and stayed cooler and easy to check on too.
    Top speeds about 20mph,

Than I modded and went brushless on 2s and then 3s gps at 32 mph and stable.

Hear some good modding info a friend of mine was doing AKA tunnelvision. https://forums.offshoreelectrics.com/...single-battery

This is mine on 3s.

TTYL.
    Last edited by lenny; 10-14-2012 at 11:20 AM.

Throw a Graupner 8.4vBB in it on 4s and look out!!
    NEED PARALLEL CONNECTORS?? QUALITY 5.5MM, 8MM, 8 AND 10 AWG, GET THEM HERE: https://forums.offshoreelectrics.com/...est!&highlight=

The problem is that there is no really good brushed motor ESC anymore, everyone has gone brushless. How does the Proboat unit hold up? AQ really only handles 7.2 v although 8.4v will work for short sprints.