Thread: motor/esc guide

Default motor/esc guide

im new to brushless and as i read throught the threads and see what people are running for motors and speedos all i see is numbers and none of them make any sense. is there a list or chart that anyone knows of to help me figure this stuff out. or can someone explain it to me. im assuming that the higher kv rating is a faster motor but we all know what happens when we assume things. and how do the motor ratings apply to batteries and esc's.

From what I havd learnt on here the kv is a reflection of how many cells and a lower kv motor will have more tourque than a higher kv. So for example if you was to run 4s (14.4v) you want a motor around 2000kv 5s around 1600kv and so on. Plus the lower the kv the bigger the prop you can use. Someone please feel free to correct me if I'm wrong.

For what it is worth ... as a general guideline... this is what I think about for motors/esc/battery/prop combinations.

First I think about what shaft RPM I want on the boat, where sport running is maybe 25K to 30K RPM and full out racing is 30K to 35K RPM. If I am running 4S (14.8volt) power system then 1600kV to 2200kV puts me in the general RPM range. If I were running a 6S boat (22.2v) then I would be looking for a 1100kv to 1600kv motor. Larger or longer motors will generally be able to handle more total power than small motors and motors will usually list either a maximum current value or a maximum power rating in watts. The you have a watt rating then divide the watts by the voltage you will be running will give you an idea of the maximum number of amps you can draw. A 1000 watt motor on 4S (14.4v) would yield a maximum amp draw of 70amps.