Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Ammo motor slower than stock?

Default Ammo motor slower than stock?

Hi guys,

I've installed a new ammo 2300 motor, and I was dissapointed with the performance, I mean it was noticeably slower
    than with my stock setup??

All my batteries, esc, prop setup is the same, i just changed the motor....

this leads me to another question. I solderd on new 5.5mm bullet connectors from the esc and to the motor,
    my soldering isn't the best as i'm new to this, so if my soldering wasn't upto standard would the boat run any slower or
    would it just not work atall?

My boat does run its just slower.. any ideas guys?

Thanks for any help

Tone

Cool

Assuming the motor is good, then you may have too much prop installed. Higher Kv motors often need smaller props, which they spin faster to make more speed. What prop are you using?

There are other reasons for the low speed, but without seeing the boat it is hard to tell from half way across the world.

ERROR 403 - This is not the page you are looking for

Hey Fluid,

I'm using an x440 prop, thats been S&B...

I'm asuming the motor is good, just got it brand new from OSE

Tone

Isn't an Ammo 2300 motor also a 2-pole motor, vs a 6-Pole for the stocker?? I think that's the case, and if it is, you are losing a BUNCH of torque...
    Darin E. Jordan - Renton, WA
    "Self-proclaimed skill-less leader in the hobby."

Quote Originally Posted by Darin Jordan View Post
    Isn't an Ammo 2300 motor also a 2-pole motor, vs a 6-Pole for the stocker?? I think that's the case, and if it is, you are losing a BUNCH of torque...
    I am not sure if the Ammo motors are 2 pole, as I bought a Ammo 1800 KV to put in my SV27 to replace the original blue can one, and there was NO difference in speed using the same prop ,( X642 ) and batteries, and run time, temps were the same. But as Fluid said you need to prop down on the Ammo 2300KV motors.