Thread: Widowmaker - Need help

Default Widowmaker - Need help

So I have to say that I am completely new to this hobby and got a widowmaker as a birthday gift (not a lot of research on my part).

I seem to have a never ending water problem. I've greased the whole shaft two times and have tied clasps to the water hose on ESC cooling exit, and the engines water intake / exit points (read it all on this forum). I've also done the bathtub test and the boat is completely dry. However, when I'm using it in the water, I quickly get a very serious amount of water (enough to effect handling and weight) in about 1-1.5 minutes.

After my third run today (where I thought i have fixed the water issue but clearly hadnt), the steering stopped working (there was again water in the boat) - basically, now the rudder is moving back and forth constantly and I cant seem to stop it without unplugging the battery. Not sure if this is a fried servo or something else?

Any help on the water and servo issue would be much appreciated.

Quote Originally Posted by offshorenoob View Post
    So I have to say that I am completely new to this hobby and got a widowmaker as a birthday gift (not a lot of research on my part).

I seem to have a never ending water problem. I've greased the whole shaft two times and have tied clasps to the water hose on ESC cooling exit, and the engines water intake / exit points (read it all on this forum). I've also done the bathtub test and the boat is completely dry. However, when I'm using it in the water, I quickly get a very serious amount of water (enough to effect handling and weight) in about 1-1.5 minutes.

After my third run today (where I thought i have fixed the water issue but clearly hadnt), the steering stopped working (there was again water in the boat) - basically, now the rudder is moving back and forth constantly and I cant seem to stop it without unplugging the battery. Not sure if this is a fried servo or something else?